Patanjali Yoga Sutra

The word 'yoga' is also used to add mathematical numbers, but when the word 'yoga' is used in the spiritual page land, then it means adding soul to the divine. Maharishi Patanjali divides the action of connecting soul with Spirit, which is called


Patanjali Yoga Sutras, in eight parts. This action is known as Ashtanga Yoga. There is tremendous scarcity in the soul, due to which we cannot feel the divine, which is also in the soul.


Yoga means 'meet', 'join', 'union,' etc. By the way, the seeker is discontinued from his nature-borne disorders and combined with his soul; the same is 'Yoga'. This soul is its personal nature. All other forms are nature-borne, which are ignorantly known to them. Yoga is the only way to get rid of these masks and become available to your real nature. This is his 'kavalyavastha' and 'salvation'. There are many methods of yoga. The final result will be the same for anyone to follow. On the basis of the difference of the rules, there have been many names of yoga such as Rajyog, Gyanyog, Karmayog, Bhaktiyog, Sanyasyog, Buddhyog, Hathayoga, Nadayoga, the goal is to establish a discriminative relationship with that soul.


What are eight Stages of Yoga?


1. Yum
There are five behaviors, such as for body, speech and mental peace, adopting the path of non-violence, not lying, do not steal, Brahmacharya etc. The person who does not obey these people affects their life and society.

2. Rule

 Human beings have to adhere to duty and follow certain rules to keep life in a systematic way. Under these, it is a combination of defecation or physical purification, contentment, penance, being absorbed in self-realization and God. Toxin includes both external and internal purification.

3. Asana

Patanjali has addressed the process of sitting in the stable and in the name of the asana. In fact, Ashtang Asana is the main topic of Hatha Yoga.

4. Pranayama
Yoga is the only Pranayama for leaving the breath in and out of the breath for the means of pulse and its awakening. Pranayama is very helpful in curbing the transience of mind and intensifying the mind.

5. Withdrawal
The name itself is called the withdrawal of the senses away from the subjects. Conquest of Indri’s can be achieved through withdrawal.

6. Assumption
The idea is to focus the mind completely on one place.

7. Focus
When the mind is concentrated in the same direction while remembering the object, then it is called meditation. In the case of complete meditation, your attention becomes completely focused on any one subject.

8. Samadhi
This is the state of your mind in which your mind is completely absorbed in the object of contemplation of the object. His mind does not wander in any other subject. Moksha is possible only through Samadhi in Yoga philosophy.

Where did these Yoga Sutras come from?

You have to understand that Patanjali did not compose Yoga. Adiyogi first taught his seven disciples to yoga, which we call Saptarishi. When the Saptarishi spread it, it developed further. Over time, there was so much expertise that people started searching for different types of expertise in yoga. This can be understood by an example. Just like today is medical science. It is becoming a very expertise. If you had a health problem twenty-five years ago today, then there was only one doctor for your whole body. Today there is a separate doctor for your heart, a different doctor for the nose; you have a different doctor for every part of you. In the next fifty years, it may also happen that if you need a medical checkup then you will have to go to hundred doctors. This day is not too far.

The same thing happened with yoga. Yoga education was divided into seven different streams, and after that, hundreds of branches of these seven were also formed. It was at one time that more than three and a half thousand branches of yoga were in circulation. All this became so confused that no one knew or could practice all the branches. When Patanjali came, he absorbed all the knowledge inside him and reconciled him into about two hundred yoga sutras.

Patanjali Business Consultant

RAFTER'S Welcome to Craftsmanship!

  • Facebook Clean
  • White Google+ Icon
  • Flickr Clean

© 2023 by RAFTER'S. Proudly created with

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now